• Welcome Guest to the new look forum. For more information refer to this thread

Been asked to help with a unit while at university

Jenbug

Veteran (100+ posts)
So I got a phone call asking me to help at a local unit while I'm at university. I'm in my 3rd year and haven't really gotten into guiding stuff while at university until now.

I'm actually pretty happy about it more so because I think maybe having something to kick start me at the start of a week might actually keep me motivated for the rest of the week. :)

Plus also it means work can't decide to give me shifts on a monday night now ;)

I have a unit I help with back at home too but obviously I see them during holidays and when I'm back at home.
Actually I think my Gic from that group will probably hear about my new unit from here before she does me since I have no credit to txt her and tell her.

I'm kinda nervous about it because I'm so used to my guide unit I help with back home.

I got told though they have 3 brownie units because they opened one it became too popular so opened a 2nd and that did too so opened a 3rd unit. But only have 2 guide units for them to go up to so they are pretty full, but both guides units are struggling for leaders to keep them open. So at least if I can help out until June they can keep open while they try to find another leader for a more permanent basis.

Just thought I'd share...

Allie

Veteran (100+ posts)
That's great Jen, you're are helping out and also getting new ideas for either your unit at home or the next unit you help at.
Have fun!

Boobook

Veteran (100+ posts)
I help with a brwonie unit at uni and another one when i'm back home. I find it's great just to meet mew people and get new ideas/games! Hope you enjoy you're new unit!

Osprey

Veteran (100+ posts)
i help with a guide and rainbow unit whilst at uni, and at a guide unit back home. :D