• Welcome Guest to the new look forum. For more information refer to this thread

Question? First time I'm taking girls camping

beanie87

Beginner (10+ posts)
Hello all,

I have been running a Brownie group for a few years on my own and this year I am braving taking 5 girls to Waddow on one of their organised camps, having no licence of my own. This will be the first time that some of them will have ever been away from home overnight, but they are really looking forward to it luckily.

What I'd like to know is what sort of activities could I do in the meeting place to help prepare them for the weekend? I am just planning next terms activities and my mind is drawing a bit of a blank where this is concerned!

Thanks for all suggestions x

MiniMoates

Veteran (100+ posts)
Could you borrow a tent and get them to have a go at putting it up?

Showing them how to make bed rolls and how to pack a rucksack so that they will be able to find at least some of their stuff lol

Quack

Veteran (100+ posts)
Staff member
GuiderPlus
I agree, the important skills that they (and their parents) need to learn is how to prepare the kit and how to look after it. So bedding rolls, how and why you need them. Packing bags, what to wear, layers etc..

These can all be made into games, contests between sixes etc.

Sent from my SGP712 using Tapatalk

Sunny2nd

Guide and Ranger Leader
GuiderPlus
How will you be cooking - games/activities on what you can/can't have at camp if you need to prepare and cook it yourself. (Though some will say there is no limit with a bit of ingenuity!!) Then find out their likes and dislikes.

fenris

fenris
GuiderPlus