• Welcome Guest to the new look forum. For more information refer to this thread

Question? Fundraising ideas - I'm a newbie!

Hi

I hope you can help! I recently joined my local Brownie unit as a leader in training, there has never been any fundraising for the unit which I want to change so I'm looking for any ideas you may have for successful fundraisers?

Thanks for you help - it's much appreciated.:)

CreigiauSnowyOwl x

fenris

fenris
GuiderPlus
First question to ask is - 'why fundraising'?

If it's for unit funds then it's worth asking the parents whether they would prefer fundraising or a subs raise. After all, there's the risk that you ask parents to donate tombola, raffle prizes and home bakes for the coffee evening, then charge them an entrance fee to give up their precious free time attending in order to buy half of it back!

If you decide that fundraising is indeed required then there are a few basic types.

Sponsored event - nobody nowadays actually sponsors per whatever, so it makes sense if they are doing something worthwhile as the activity - so a sponsored litter pick, or something sporty that gets them exercising. Downside is that it's the parents/families who pay.

Sale - whether a coffee evening, sale of work or equivalent, there is a lot of work in planning, running, and clearing up afterwards. It stands more chance of drawing in people from the wider community so it isn't just parents. And it can either be a small-scale event the unit runs, or taking a stall at a larger event. If the girls are going to make items to sell, keep a firm eye on choosing things they can make a good job of, and which people are therefore likely to want to buy on their merits, not out of sympathy.