• Welcome Guest to the new look forum. For more information refer to this thread

SSAGO in Durham?

devondi

Beginner (10+ posts)
Hi,
My daughter hopes to go to Durham Uni in Sept. Is there a SSAGO group. She's also been YL with Rainbows and would be interested in linking with a rainbow unit

fluffy1st

Veteran (100+ posts)
GuiderPlus
I'm a PhD student at Durham, if you send me a PM I can pass your details on to DUSAGG (Durham Uni Scout and Guide Group) and someone will be in touch with her...maybe after the exam period, though! If you google DUSAGG their website comes up, and there are contact details on that if you wanted to go directly.

Lydia!

Veteran (100+ posts)
There's a poster up in th window of the church hall on the main road up to the library/ science site asking for Guiding leaders actually...or at least there was when I was up there (2004-2009).

I have to say that the DUSAGG (Durham Uni Scout and Guide Group) put me off Guiding for 5 years, and I know THREE other Durham Alumni in Guiding (2 work at CHQ) who said the same. I personally found they were more focused on doing activities themselves than being a leader which I wanted to do ('We do Brownie Badges ourselves!' is what they told me at the fresher's fair!). I would be tempted to enquire with local Guiding directly if your daughter finds that they havent improved since then and not be put off like I was....

B

bekky

It is very activity based and more scout-y than guide based, I haven't had much to do with it while being here, as I prefer just being a Leader and doing Senior Section at home, but it is nice to know that there are other student guiders out there!
This is the website: http://www.dur.ac.uk/scout-guide.group/ , as I'm at the other campus I'm not completely sure, but I think that in the first few weeks of term starting they organise a evening where the local leaders come and you have the chance to talk to them and find a unit to suit you.

keenranger

Beginner (10+ posts)