• Welcome Guest to the new look forum. For more information refer to this thread

Young Leader and SS awards

TeddyIncredible

Veteran (100+ posts)
Our unit will be having a new Young Leader start with us after the summer. She was a Guide, and as far as I am aware will not be going to SS meetings.

Is she allowed to work on SS awards, such as Look Wider, even though she doesn't attend meetings (aside from our Brownie meetings). I'd like to make sure she is aware of all opportunities open to her.

I'm looking to purchase the young leader qualification book for her, and this seems to be merged with the Look Wider booklet.

Sorry, I am new to this and would like any advice.

Quack

Veteran (100+ posts)
Staff member
GuiderPlus
There will be more knowledgeable responses, but basically yes absolutely. Any member of senior section can do them. The hard part is getting her involved, motivated and in contact with others in a similar situation to help her along the way.

emmaluvseeyore

Brownie Leader and Ranger Assistant
Any member between the ages of 14 and 26 can do any of the Senior Section awards. Well, I suppose for the YLQ, they need to be 14-18. You don't have to go to SS meetings.

Good on you for making sure she is aware of her opportunities! I seriously think that the ALQ should include training on the Senior Section programme because most leaders will work with a SS member at some point, and a lot of leaders aren't aware that their YLs can do all the SS stuff. Just like you, many people don't really get what Senior Section is!

The Young Leader Qualification has recently changed, so I am not sure if the books have the new version of it yet. This page of the SS website has information on all the qualifications she can work towards: http://www.girlguiding.org.uk/seniorsection/whatcanido/index.html

frazzledguider

Veteran (100+ posts)
GuiderPlus