1. Welcome Guest to the new look forum. For more information refer to this thread
    Dismiss Notice

Information: Help & advice for complete newbie please!

Discussion in 'Unit Helpers' started by Claire8819, Nov 30, 2015.

1. Claire8819

Claire8819 (Newbie)

Nov 30, 2015
    Hi everyone. I responded to a post I saw online about being a local Brownie helper, which I thought sounded like a fun way to get out of the house and have a hobby that was also rewarding. I have NEVER been in the Guides, never been to a meeting, so my knowledge extends to me knowing it's a group of girls who get together and do stuff to earn badges. That's it. Anyway as you can imagine there's a lot to take in about the process and format of Brownies: all the songs, the 'promise', the book with the categories they have to work through, what they actually do at each meeting, etc. What I really need is Brownies for Dummies! Like a definitive guide to what it's all about, what is required of a helper, etc. The leader was talking about me having a few girls to myself to guide through the workbook, and is very keen for me to be a leader and plan meetings etc on my own, but as willing as I am I feel I need to research and know a lot more about what is expected of me and basically how the whole thing works! So if anyone can give any help or advice I'd really appreciate it! I just want to be armed with knowledge about the whole thing, as lovely as the leader is I don't want to bother her too much with lots of simple questions, I'd rather do a bit of homework myself and go in with a bit more understanding instead of hanging around not really knowing what to do x
  2. OrangeOwl

OrangeOwl Veteran (100+ posts)

Mar 3, 2010
    Once your membership number comes through have a look at the on-line learning for the programme on GGUK. It's very useful.