1. Welcome Guest to the new look forum. For more information refer to this thread
    Dismiss Notice

Re-waterproofing tents

Discussion in 'Camping and Sleepovers' started by quietbrownowl, Jun 27, 2017.

1. quietbrownowl

quietbrownowl Veteran (100+ posts)

Can anyone give me any advice please about re-waterproofing lightweight tents? I've never done this before and our tents are all needing done this year as when we took them out in May 1 leaked. What I'm wondering is:
    1 what's the best product to use?
    2 does it need to be done outside or can I do it indoors (thinking our hall as it won't be used over the summer and can do more than one at a time)?

I'm an experienced xer but feel like such a rookie when it comes to this!

2. Epona

Epona Veteran (100+ posts)

Are they canvas or modern material?

Fabsil spray
    is easy to apply for modern fabric, and it may be worth doing a brush-on McNett seam sealant too if the tents are getting on a bit. Both are readily available from Screwfix, Go Outdoors and the like.

I do it outdoors for better ventilation...

Last edited: Jun 27, 2017
  3. Foxi

Foxi Guide Guider

I have only waterproofed canvas tents - used brush on and spray on. If you use the spray on stuff it most definately needs to be done out doors!

4. Tregi

Tregi Veteran (100+ posts)

Were they definitely leaking? Not stuff touching the outer or condensation? Fabsil works, but is smelly. You also need to allow time for it to dry, amd make sure what you get is suitable for the fabric

Sent from my SM-G850F using Tapatalk

5. quietbrownowl

quietbrownowl Veteran (100+ posts)

Thank you everyone. It's modern tents I'm needing to do. I'll need to pray for nice weather as I think there's 6 or more to do.